March Meet the Maker

Its’s March, the start of Spring (apparently!) and the start of a new challenge; an instagrammy one!  Taking part in an instagram challenge was part of my 35 before 35 list and, as luck would have it, I stumbled across the #meetthemaker instagram challenge by Joanne Hawker.   As usual, I’m a bit late to the party but better late than never!

So…the concept…I post an image on instagram each day which links to the prompts given by Joanne (see below).  That way, you get to find out lots more about me and my work, as well as lots of other small businesses.

joannehawkermmtm

I’m planning on posting my images on my Facebook page (Kerry’s Crochet Creations) as well as instagram and I’ll post various blog posts throughout the challenge to.

As my blog is fairly new I thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself so here I am!

17022475_10154817667211999_5676916106647573809_n

This photo was taken on a very blustery day outside The Royal Marine’s museum in Portsmouth.  Sadly, it’s closing at the end of the month and is being relocated so we decided to pop along for a visit, oh and we just ‘had’ to go to the amusements too…I love living by the sea!

I’m the creator behind Kerry’s Crochet Creations and a mum of two, Ella is 7, although she’s currently counting down to her 8th birthday (18 days to go!) and Lily who’s 3 months old (hence Lillibella makes).  She was with us but she didn’t quite make it into the selfie above (you can meet her in my Time ticking away… post.  I’m a qualified primary school teacher, currently on maternity leave and enjoying doing the school run!  I know I sound mad but having worked full time since Ella was 5 months old I’ve never been able to do ‘proper’ school runs before.  We live on the South Coast and I love living by the sea!

Anyway, I’ve always been into crafting, starting with cross-stitch and card making when I was younger, moving onto scrapbooking and now, more recently crochet.  I’ve tried various other crafts in between and I love seeing my handmade items around my home and giving them as gifts.  For my 32nd birthday I was given a crochet hook, vintage instruction book that had belonged to my mum and some wool, I haven’t looked back since!  I’m largely self-taught, having had one lesson on granny squares, and love the challenge of tackling new patterns.  I’ve made a fair few baby blankets since I began crocheting but crochet isn’t just for blankets, I’ve also made, to name a few, bunting,  wreaths, cuddly toys, home decorations, Christmas tree baubles and even a Rhino head!

13217222_1016850655049032_2837754485170978717_o

Kerry’s Crochet Creations all started with poppies.  I happened to pop a photo of one on my Slimming World group’s Facebook page and the orders for them came flooding in.  I donated all of the money given to me for them to the Royal British Legion and ended up raising over £200!  This gave me the push I needed to start up Kerry’s Crochet Creations and the rest is history!

12493632_945144215553010_4021874947427422113_o

I’m currently creating lots of flower related items, crocheted roses for Mother’s Day have been very popular.

20170204_172416

I’m also creating wedding bouquets (a rose one is up next!), other wedding items are also being planned!

20170210_100852

Right, I’m off to catch up on the challenge of Instagram – pop over and give me a wave! X

Leave a Reply

