Winter Project Link Party

My First Ever Link Party!

A link party? What’s that?  That’s exactly what I was asking when I stumbled across Francesca’s gorgeous crochet blanket post over at My Crafty Musings.  She’d joined the Winter Project Link Party hosted by Thistlebear so of course I had to go and have a nosey!  So it turns out that a link party is basically is a way to connect with other bloggers and share what you’re working on/what you’ve finished.  I love this idea – it’s my sort of party as I can attend in my PJs and get to be inspired by lots of crafty types!  So here’s my contribution to the link party…a post about my latest blanket.

Just before Christmas I decided to treat myself to a visit to my local yarn shop, they stock ALL of the Stylecraft DK colours so it’s hard to resist a visit!  This time I went with the intention of picking out colours (shades of pink, purple and blue) to create a blanket for my lounge – finally something for ‘me!’  After a fair bit of deliberation, I left the shop with 2 bags crammed full with wool and practically skipped back to the car.

15995992_10154690612401999_845596398_n

 

I’d already decided that I’d be following the Attic 24 cosy stripe pattern so put the colours in an order, working through the shades of the blues, purples and pinks (the photo doesn’t do the colours justice, I’ll take one when the Sun reappears!).  And so I began.  And then I stopped.  The colours no longer worked!  The blanket went back into my crochet work bag.

Christmas came and Christmas went and still it remained in the bag – I felt like I’d put it on the naughty step!  I’d totally fallen out of love with it already.

New Year arrived and so did the resolutions (well my list).  The wool was finally released from its bag again and I started from scratch.  I love Lucy’s colour choices for her cosy stripe but they wouldn’t go with my lounge (its final resting place).  Instead, I decided to use my colours (minus the pinks) but in a random nature as she does.  It’s still early days but I think the blanket and I will become good friends…I’ve even taken it out to a couple of places!  

16010111_10154690649476999_2065618644_o

16009774_10154690648916999_1886427967_o

Right, enough about my blanket, which will hopefully have grown a fair bit by the next Link Party, I’m off to explore the other blogs taking part.

10 thoughts on “Winter Project Link Party

  1. What a super blanket. Sometimes the smallest changes can help us fall in love with a project all over again. I see your blog is quite new, I hope you enjoy writing and blogging, it is a lot of fun, and most bloggers are just delightful. Thank you so much for visiting my blog, and your nice comment. X

    Like

  2. I loved that you ‘practically skipped back to the car’! I feel like that when I’ve bought new loveliness’ for a project too. I think your blanket looks really good so far. I hope you keep up the momentum with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! My intention is that it’s one of those projects that bumbles along in the background…a perfect one to pick up when too tired to concentrate on anything tricky but still wanting the relaxation crochet provides x

      Like

  3. Hi there, thank you for joining in with my link party! It’s so nice to meet you. Your blanket is going to be lovely. I look forward to seeing your progress, so I hope you will join with my party again in February and March before it ends for the season. Have fun with blogging!

    Like

  4. Beautiful blanket 😍 I have an Attic 24 Harmony half made, stuffed in a bag somewhere. You’ve inspired me to get it back out again soon! Thanks so much for following my blog! I love the new world of crafters I’m discovering. Looking forward to seeing more of your posts! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

